Skip to the answer

Tap to Pay on iPhone: take card payments with just your phone

By Nation 8 min read

Quick answer

Tap to Pay on iPhone lets you accept contactless cards and digital wallets on your own iPhone, with no card reader, through a supported payment app such as Square, Stripe, PayPal, Shopify POS or Cash App. Android phones with NFC can do the same through those providers' Android apps. You pay the app's in-person rate, for example 2.6% + 15¢ per tap on Square, which comes to $1.19 on a $40 sale.

Nation, an AI store builder, publishes this page. It is pre-launch, with a waitlist on withnation.ai, so it is not in the fee comparison. See where Nation fits.

How Tap to Pay on iPhone works

Tap to Pay on iPhone turns an iPhone into a contactless card terminal. The buyer holds a contactless card, phone or watch near your iPhone, and the payment app on your phone takes the payment. Apple says it accepts everything physical debit and credit cards to Apple Pay and other digital wallets, including Android, and that no extra terminals or hardware are needed.

You do not sign up with Apple. To set it up, you enable it in the payment app of your choice. Apple says the feature works with hundreds of payment apps, and the payment provider behind the app sets the fee and pays out the money. So the real choice is which provider's app to use.

Tap to pay on Android works the same way. A phone with NFC reads the card, and the provider's Android app takes the payment. Each provider decides which Android phones it supports, so the list of working phones differs from app to app.

Apps that support tap to pay on iPhone and Android

The table lists US payment apps that publish their Tap to Pay rate on their own pages, with the phone requirements each one states.

Tap to Pay apps for US sellers
Provider and appRate per tapiPhoneAndroid
Square, Square Point of Sale app2.6% + 15¢ per tapSupportedAndroid 9 or a greater OS and have NFC capabilities
Stripe, Stripe Dashboard app2.7% + 5¢, plus $0.10 per authorizationiPhone XS or later. The device must have a passcode set and be signed into iCloud.Supported
PayPal, PayPal app2.29% + $0.09 per transactioniPhones XS and later running the latest version of iOS, and Android 8.0 and above with Near Field Communication (NFC) capabilities, and Google Play servicesAndroid 8.0 and above with Near Field Communication (NFC) capabilities, and Google Play services
Shopify POSin-person credit card rates from Shopify Payments, 2.6% + 10¢ on BasiciPhone XS or newerAndroid 13 or higher version
Cash App Businessa flat 3% processing fee per transactioniPhone XS, running iOS 16.7 or laterAndroid 10 or later that have Near Field Communication (NFC) capabilities
Venmo business profile2.29% + $0.09Not stated on Venmo's fees pageNot stated on Venmo's fees page

Shopify POS also needs Shopify Payments activated as your store's payment provider, plus a Shopify plan. PayPal has no monthly fee or setup cost. Rates are for US cards; check the provider's page for international cards and refunds.

What you need for Tap to Pay on iPhone

Apple's own requirements are short. The payment apps add a few of their own, so check both before a market day.

  • A recent iPhone. Apple says Tap to Pay on iPhone requires iPhone Xs or later.
  • Current software. Apple requires a supported payment app and the latest version of iOS. Shopify notes that Apple supports each iOS version for Tap to Pay for one year after that version's release date.
  • An iPhone, not an iPad. Shopify says the feature is limited to iPhone products only and isn't available on iPad.
  • A secured phone. Stripe's Dashboard app needs iPhone XS or later. The device must have a passcode set and be signed into iCloud.
  • A connection. Square says you need an internet or cellular connection. Apple mentions a Store and Forward mode for offline sales, but only where the payment app offers it.
  • An account with the provider, verified for in-person payments in a country where it works. Apple says the feature is not available in all markets.

Apple also notes: Some contactless cards may not be accepted by your payment app. Transaction limits may apply. Keep a second way to get paid for those cases.

Tap to pay on Android: which phones work

Android support depends on the provider, because each one sets its own minimum. The phone needs NFC switched on, and each provider below sets a minimum Android version.

Square supports phones on Android 9 or a greater OS and have NFC capabilities, at 2.6% + 15¢ per tap, but lists Samsung Galaxy S8, S9, and Note 9 as not compatible. PayPal needs Android 8.0 and above with Near Field Communication (NFC) capabilities, and Google Play services, and its Tap to Pay only works on compatible mobile phones, not tablets or other devices. Cash App needs Android 10 or later that have Near Field Communication (NFC) capabilities.

Shopify POS sets the highest bar. The phone must be on Android 13 or higher version, and its last security patch must be from within the last 12 months. Shopify also notes that Tap to Pay on Android takes contactless payments only: To accept swipe or PIN payments, switch to another paired card reader.

How to accept credit card payments on iPhone with Tap to Pay

The steps are close to the same in every app. This uses Square as the example, because its app is free.

  1. Check your phone

    Confirm you have iPhone Xs or later on the latest iOS, or an Android phone that meets the provider's minimum. Turn on a passcode.

  2. Open a seller account

    Sign up with the provider and complete identity and bank details, so payouts can reach you. Square uses the free Square Point of Sale app.

  3. Turn on Tap to Pay in the app

    In the app's settings, enable Tap to Pay and follow the app's prompts. On Android, make sure NFC is switched on.

  4. Enter the amount and hand over the phone

    Type the sale amount or pick items, choose Tap to Pay, and let the buyer hold their card or phone near your phone.

  5. Check the result

    The app shows whether the payment went through. The money arrives with the provider's normal payout.

What Tap to Pay costs on one $40 sale

The same $40 in-person sale, tapped on a phone, at each provider's published Tap to Pay rate. Stripe adds a per-tap fee on top of its in-person card rate, so both are counted.

Fees on one $40 contactless sale, US seller Per-sale fees only. A monthly plan is noted next to the amount where the provider's page states one.
  1. PayPal $1.01 no monthly fee Tap 2.29% + $0.09 $1.01
  2. Shopify POS $1.14 plus $39 a month In person 2.6% + 10¢ $1.14
  3. Square baseline $1.19 free plan Tap 2.6% + 15¢ $1.19
  4. Cash App $1.20 per-sale fee only Flat 3% $1.20
  5. Stripe $1.23 per-sale fee only In person 2.7% + 5¢ $1.13, Tap to Pay $0.10 $0.10

Assumes a $40 sale, a US-issued contactless card or wallet, no tip, no tax, standard payout speed and no refund. Shopify uses the Basic plan's in-person rate. PayPal uses its starting rate.

Other ways to accept credit card payments on a phone

Tap to Pay covers contactless cards and wallets. For buyers without one, or for sales that are not face to face, the same apps offer other options. Square lists manual card entry, a QR code, or checkout link.

  • A card reader paired with the phone, for chip and swipe cards. Square's First Reader FREE offer covers a swipe reader, and its contactless and chip reader costs $59. PayPal charges $29 for your first card reader. Stripe's Reader M2 costs $59.00.
  • Typing the card number in by hand. It costs more because the card is not present: Square charges 3.5% + 15¢ for manual entry.
  • A payment link or QR code the buyer opens on their own phone, useful for orders taken by message.

When a card reader is still worth buying

Tap to Pay suits sellers who take a few card payments a day: pop-up stalls, craft fairs, deliveries and home visits. It needs no extra hardware and uses a phone you already carry.

A reader is worth the one-time cost when many buyers pay by chip or swipe, when you need a counter device that stays put, or when your phone is older than the minimum model.

Where Nation fits

Nation

Category: an AI store builder

Not ranked

Nation says one description of what you make builds the store, then agents handle orders, customers and delivery and run ads, content and social posts, with you approving the work. Because pricing is not announced yet, it is not in the fee comparison.

Limits today

  • Status: pre-launch, with a waitlist on withnation.ai.
  • Pricing and fees: not announced yet.
  • Shopper marketplace: no shopper marketplace has been announced.
  • Track record: no independent reviews or public stores yet.

Nation publishes this page. Nation is not in the fee comparison until signup is public and pricing is published.

Describe what you make

Questions about Tap to Pay on iPhone and Android

Does Tap to Pay on iPhone need a card reader?

Tap to Pay on iPhone does not need a card reader. The buyer taps a contactless card, phone or watch on your iPhone, and a payment app takes the payment. Apple says no extra terminals or hardware are needed. You still need an account with a payment provider whose app supports the feature.

How much does Tap to Pay on iPhone cost?

Tap to Pay on iPhone costs whatever your payment provider charges per tap. On a $40 sale that is $1.19 on Square at 2.6% + 15¢ per tap, $1.01 on PayPal at 2.29% + $0.09 per transaction, or $1.23 on Stripe, which adds $0.10 per authorization to its in-person rate. Check your provider's pricing page before you start.

How does tap to pay on iPhone work with Square?

Tap to pay on iPhone with Square runs inside the free Square Point of Sale app. You enable Tap to Pay in the app, enter the amount and let the buyer tap. Square charges 2.6% + 15¢ per tap. For buyers without a contactless card, Square offers manual card entry, a QR code, or checkout link.

Can I use tap to pay on an Android phone?

Tap to pay works on Android phones with NFC, through the Android apps of providers such as Square, PayPal, Shopify POS and Cash App. Each sets its own minimum: Square needs Android 9 or a greater OS and have NFC capabilities, and Shopify needs Android 13 or higher version. Square charges 2.6% + 15¢ per tap on Android, the same as on iPhone.

Which iPhones support Tap to Pay?

Tap to Pay on iPhone needs iPhone Xs or later, plus a supported payment app and the latest version of iOS. It does not work on iPad: Shopify says it is limited to iPhone products only and isn't available on iPad. Some apps add their own rules, such as a passcode and iCloud sign-in for Stripe's Dashboard app.

Describe what you make

Nation is an AI store builder. It is pre-launch, with a waitlist on withnation.ai: leave a description of what you make and your email to join the waitlist.